Welcome To Whetstone Seniors Section

Updated May 23rd  2024

Email us at:    seniors@whetstonegolfclub.co.uk

The seniors section was formed in 1993.  Ken Napleton became secretary at that time and he instigated a proper monthly medal comp with a draw for playing groups and tee times. The main benefit then remains the same today with old and new members being “thrown” together to play with people they had possibly not previously even met let alone played with. The format was quickly adopted and remains the same today.


At that time Ken’s son Matthew was a regular “A” team player and Ken used to accompany him to many away games as caddy with the additional motive of getting to meet seniors at other clubs and to arrange further fixtures for WGC.


David Hytch became first Seniors Captain in 1993, at that time Ken Napleton was elected Senior’s Chairman and Secretary, remaining on the committee until 2004. John Wills was elected Captain in 1994. 

Wally Hammond having previously helped with comp desk duties became captain in 1995, still a regular is Peter Halford captain in 96.

There was now a strong and growing seniors section and it was in 1996 that the seniors achieved autonomy from under the clubs main committee and went on to conduct their own affairs.

Irrepressible Brian Marris became seniors captain in 1997. Sadly 1998 Capt John Robinson has since passed away. Also in 1998 with Dave Raitt’s support, we gained our own seniors honours boards. That same year the seniors presented the club with the events board outside the club house. Brian Morgan, he of the valleys, became senior’s Capt in 1999 and is another who continues to play regularly. Tony Turnock took over in the millennium year and has since emigrated up North. Ken Napleton having been the driving force behind the seniors, became Capt in 2001.  He also sponsored, through his company KJN Heating, the garden trophy providing the trophy and prizes with the proceeds from the event going to the garden fund which provides the features and replacement plants, such as those on the first tee. In 2014 we welcomed a new sponsor, Inspired Travel of Burbage, who will continue to provide through the Garden Trophy, funding for garden and other improvements. Ray Morris took over in 2002, although at that time he was already club treasurer and was also seniors secretary from 2003 up until 2012. Chris Rowntree took over in 2003 with another club regular Dave Jaundrell taking over in 2004. Bob Nettleton became capt in 2005 and remains as committed as ever to the WGC cause. Sadly 2006 Capt Dave O’Neill passed away in 2009, with Howard Lissaman holding the mantle in 2007 we gained another Capt committed to making WGC seniors the friendliest club on the Leicestershire circuit. Ken Johnson returned from a sabbatical and became Capt in 2008, and was followed by the very popular and always approachable Stuart Goddard in 2009. Stuart was succeeded by the ever dependable and totally reliable Dennis Burbage in 2009. following which the late Alan Gower, who like many before him showed complete commitment to WGC senior section continued to work tirelessly for the club. Past Club Capt Trevor Hodges took over for 2012 and our 2013 Capt was the indomitable and irrepressible Roger Greatwood. Steve Cave took office for 2014 bringing his irrepressible brand of enthusiasm and commitment, and will be remembered for his sense of humour, enthusiasm and inclusive style of chairmanship.

Graham Nutting who had previously served as club captain took the seniors captaincy for part of 2015 before retiring from the club. Vice captain Chris Smith filled the void admirably throughout the remainder of the year, going on to become seniors captain in 2016. Geoff Crofts led the seniors as captain for 2017. In 2018 he was replaced by Kev Deegan who in turn gave way in 2019 to Brian Arkle.. In 2020 Brian Turner had the unfortunate task of presiding over the Covid Virus year when play was on and off, on and off with lockdowns and tiers of restrictions. Our matches and competitions were cancelled and then he had to retire for 2021 due to a hip problem, so Bob Willett took over. In 2022 Chris Hunt took up the reigns for a 2 year stint.


Further seniors section club competitions’ were introduced to what was becoming an increasingly important and growing section of the club.




Year of Inauguration

First Winner

Seniors Championship


John Fisher



B. Arkell

Memorial Trophy


L. Brown &

Tony Turnock

Millennium Trophy


Barry Brindle

Garden Trophy


Chris Rowntree 

Captains Cup


John Fisher


Add to that The Blarney Cup, Tom Hobbs Trophy, Winter League, Summer K.O. Captains’ Charity Event, Monthly Medals, LSGS Championship, Breakfast Scramble, Seniors Open,  Santa Special, occasional  Away Days plus around 20 team matches, and you can see that since its inception respective committees have worked hard to provide a very full programme of events..


 In 2008 the seniors newsletter was introduced. Originally intended as a bi monthly light hearted look at what the section was up to, it now appears each month and well over 100 issues copies have been produced both on-line and in hard copy. Our own charity calendar followed in 2010 and member’s photos can be viewed throughout the World Wide Web.


It speaks volumes for the spirit and friendship of the section that so many people who have been instrumental in its development remain as committed today as they were when the section was officially formed in 1993. Success is reflected not just in the numbers, (most senior competitions attract 80 ish  senior members throughout the year) but more so with the spirit and friendliness of the club. For many WGC is a Mecca of friendship and good times, none more so than in our wonderful seniors section, wherein lies the very heart of the club.